Our Story

In 2017, Democracy Prep Public Schools — a Harlem-based network of nonprofit public charter schools — received authorization to expand its highly successful model into Clark County. Rather than build a new program from scratch, Democracy Prep entered into a partnership with the Andre Agassi College Prep Academy and has transformed the existing school into Democracy Prep at the Agassi Campus. Fusing a rigorous instructional program with a full complement of arts and athletics offerings, DPAC aims to be the highest performing public school choice for families in Las Vegas.


Adam Johnson

1250 Scholars


The DREAM Team

All of our instructional staff have cell phones that are left on until 9:00pm. If you need to talk with one of our teachers please see their contact information below.

Elementary School

Crystal Jones


Anastasia Lyons

LEADER U Resident

Anthony Vu

Operations Manager

Kattya Martinez

Kindergarten Teacher

Verlisha Ferrand

Kindergarten Teacher

Addison Espeseth

Kindergarten Teacher

Greer Perkins

1st Grade Teacher

Kelly McNamara

1st Grade Teacher

Victoria Groshner

1st Grade Teacher

Michele McIntyre

2nd Grade Teacher

Josslyn Tharaldson

2nd Grade Teacher

Sophi Wochok

3rd Grade Teacher

Saesha Hall

3rd Grade Teacher

Marshon Winters

3rd Grade Teacher

Cyndee Whiteman

4th Grade Teacher

Adrian Swain

4th Grade Teacher

Andrea Fischer

4th Grade Teacher

Sarah Morris

5th Grade Teacher

Terrance Coleman

5th Grade Teacher

Corey Winner

5th Grade Teacher

Sarah Hornsby

Art Teacher

Theresa Macniel

ES Science Cohort

Nona Burleson

K-5 ELL Teacher

Wendell West

P.E. Teacher

Jasmine Shanklin


Pamula Walker


Riunite Hood


Middle School

Alex Daniels


Chasidy Kretzer

Assistant Principal

Anthony Vu

Operations Manager

Shannon Hamilton

6th Grade ACT Coach

Ryeasha Hester

6th Grade ELA

Charles Phoenix

6th Grade History

Kyihara Anderson

6th Grade Math

Michael Grant

6th Grade ELL Teacher

Laquita Nicole Russell

7th Grade ELA

Ashley Moser

7th Grade Science

Starr Walden

7th Grade Math Teacher

Jai Marin

8th Grade ELA

Maliq Kendricks

8th Grade ELA

Courtney Rivas

8th Grade Math

Benjamin Pennington

8th Grade History Teacher

Toni Barbour

8th Grade Math Teacher

Keith Jones

P.E. Teacher

Jakare James

Music Teacher

High School

Christina Bentheim


Peter Meyer

Operations Manager

Maureen Truax


Sharon Teich

ACT Coach

Jameela Taylor

English Teacher

Alia Spratt

English Teacher

Cameron Simms

English Teacher

Michelle Cabral

Mathematics Teacher

Alexandria Taylor

Science Teacher

Trevor Diggs

P.E. Teacher

Darlene Blackburn

ACT Coach

Claire Jeong

Korean Teacher

Rita Lambros

Visual Arts Teacher

Maria Leon

Spanish Teacher

Tonya Franklin

Mathematics Teacher

Taylor Simpson

History Teacher

Norman LaFave

Science Teacher

David Haile

Music Teacher

Jaki Thomas

ELA Teacher

Dan Pasternack

Civics Teachers

Darwin Peterson

Health Teacher

Jason Gipson


Herbie Walker

College Counselor

Dr. Jeffrey Thompson

Social Worker

Campus Support

Adam Johnson

Executive Director

Melanie Aldridge

Recruitment Associate

Reggie Galloway

Charter Systems Manager

Andrew Morgan

Special Education Manager

Rachel Melia

Human Resources Associate

Jackie White

Staff Accountant

Isabel Garcia


Bill Whitfield

Director of Security

Jeff Adams

Security Associate

William Jefferson

Security Associate

Ana Rodriguez

Cafeteria Manager

Valeria Navarro

Cafeteria Aid

Board of Directors

Ray Specht

Ray Specht Leadership (702) 375-2233

Karl Riley

Snell & Wilmer, LLP (702) 784-5209

Michael Flores

Nevada System of Higher Education

Dr. Joseph Morgan, PhD

UNLV (702) 895-3329

Asha Jones

College of Southern Nevada

Stavan Corbett

United Way of Southern Nevada

Board Meeting Dates

Thursday, August 23, 2018 at 4:00 pm
Tuesday, September 17, 2018 at 6:00 pm
Tuesday, December 11, 2018 at 6:00 pm
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 at 6:00 pm
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 at 6:00 pm